I Hear You

I hear you speak, I just don’t want to listen. You have a knack for saying things that make sense when I don’t want sense. You tell me the truth that I don’t want to hear when I am here, blissfully oblivious. Why you gotta burst my bubble?

I hear you shuffle around me, silent yet not quiet, watching, trying to nudge me, rouse me into some motion. I hear you thinking, see the thoughts on your face, see you try to hide them.

I hear the things you don’t say when you don’t want to hurt me. I see you struggling beside me, fighting me with me, pushing me forward, cheering me on, calling me out, bringing me into me.

I feel you beside me, brave when I’m afraid, more daring, exploring avenues I’d never dare, facing fear head-on, unapologetic in who you are. I hear you and I’m glad you’re there. If you weren’t, the silence would consume me.

Kassy_Lu

Leave a comment